Sunday, February 1, 2009

Carpool Lanes

I was driving home from work when I was noticing just how many cars were not using the carpool lane. Why is it a single person in a vehicle will be ticketed for driving in a lane that they are paying for and vehicle that has two or more drives is free to drive in any lane that they wish? There are a great number of vehicles that should be in that lane and are not rather they are taking space of the lanes we other drivers are forced to use. GET THE HELL OUT OF MY LANES AND USE THE ONE THAT IS NOT BEING USED AND WAS DESIGNED FOR YOUR OCCUPANSY! These morons are using the other lanes and adding to the traffic. Why are they not given a ticket? Why are they free to use any lane? Are they just trying to show the rest of the single occupant vehicles that they can use any of the lanes on the road and we can’t?
I will use the carpool lanes at the I-5 I-405 interchange only because people on the roads do not understand the concept of merging in traffic. ZIPPER people! It is easy one car goes then another goes. If people would drive this way there would be no need for the stupid meter lights on to the freeway. The other reason for the back up at that point is Highway 167 exit. People that take that exit wait until the last minute to get over and then come to a stop because for some reason the people (the ones that got over like they should have) won’t let them in and I don’t blame them. They waited for their turn to exit. These dumb asses are so intent on getting a few cars ahead that they are willing to back up traffic and possible be the cause of any accident.
Being that my tax dollars are spent on these wasted lanes I will use them. On highway 167 you can pay to drive in these lanes and that seem to be a bit of a rip off. You pay twice for the RIGHT to travel in these lanes. Why is the tax payer forced to pay a second time? And another thing that is a problem in traffic is those big truck drivers. Why are trucks traveling in the left lane? The problem with trucks driving in these lanes is so simple even I understand them, NO ONE CAN SEE AROUND THEM. And in stop and go traffic they are slower to start moving again.
While on the subject of trucks (talking big ones not 4x4) why are they going 60mph? Are they not suppose to be going 50mph. In the drivers hand book it states that big trucks are to go 10mph less then the posted speed for the other vehicles. And why is this not posted? On the other side of the mountains it is posted.
I don’t want to leave out that good old turn signal. It used to be that a driver would use a turn single to let others know they were either going to exit from the highway or changing lanes Now it is the signal to all other people they had better speed up or else someone is going to “cut” in front of them. When a driver needs to get over so that they can exit and they are foolish enough to use the turn signal in the proper manner they might as while stay where they are because everyone behind them in the lane the they are moving to will speed up and ride the persons bumper in front of them making sure you don’t “cut’ in front of them. Not letting a person over only causes more delays in as that person has to slow down to make a lane change.
Why is that people follow the person in front of them as if they are being towed by that car? Do they believe that by following that close some how they will be pulled by that car and saving them gas? When I learned to drive the rule was it was safe to move over (after checking your mirrors) when the car was safely in front of you. Now if you follow that rule when you look to make sure it is clear Mr. or Ms dumb ass is right in your blind spot and will get all crazy on your ass for nearly hitting them. And now you get that new problem of “road rage or as I call it "The latte sidrome."
A great many of are traffic problems can be blamed on over cafindated drivers. Seattleites drink way too much of it and then they can’t sit still and have zero tolerents for anyone that is not hitting warp speeds. They are overly stimulated with an over dose of caffeine that they have they have no choice in traffic unable to fly down the road forcing to use their middle finger as much as they can. The act of extending their middle figure coupled with waving of the arms in a wild manner and bouncing up and down is there only outlet they have for caffeine rush they are experiencing. So really it is not their fault they are being crazed loonies that could be running faster then the speed for which they are forced to travel. So try and giving the coffee a rest every now and then and others won’t be pissing you off as much.
I would like to leave you all with these parting words… If you are driving down that happy freeway to hell during rush hour and see me coming in your rear view mirror either put the pedal down or get the hell out of my way!!!

No comments:

Post a Comment